This book made me cook .. last month and Mothers’ Day.. altogether

Julie and Julia was the book for last month’s selection and despite my initial enthusiasm, I found the book difficult to finish. I had hoped the book would do what the movie did not, inspire and enthuse but I have come to realise that since I feed my hunger for good food writing every day from the hundreds of blogs and sites, I have, in turn, become impatient with bad  or  meandering writing. Or maybe I am just picky.

At the end of the book, I spent a good day thinking what would I like to make and all I could remember was aspic and animal fat and loads of runny butter and constant fights. Now the last part though reminiscent of fights that happen in the kitchen I operate in.  But nothing else made me want to reach for a pound of butter.

but then came Mothers’ Day and my sister and I decided to make a really rich meal for my mother. That’s the meal I decided to dedicate to Julia Child (and Julie Powell). It was drenched in cream and cheese and butter and knocked us out for the afternoon.

Divine and decadent, it’s love affair I can ill-afford to continue. And to continue my learning I experimented with a brioche recipe.

It’s an original…

  • 2 cups flour (whole wheat)
  • 1 tsp fresh yeast
  • 1 tsp salt
  • water to mix, as required

After first rising:

  • 1 cup flour
  • 1 egg
  • 1 and 1/2 cup butter, melted

After yeast is activated, mix in flour to form a sticky dough.

Let this dough rise till double in volume.

After adding the remaining flour, let it rise.

Knead till the dough becomes satiny-smooth.

I made two batches of bread from this dough — one turned out more like a flatbread and others in a muffin pan.

I loved how this recipe turned out. A big thumbs up to this recipe. The bread is fragrant, moist, not dense — I guess it’s the egg and butter combination. Not one to use often but it was great with the salad and the spaghetti carbonara featured above.

Leave a Reply

