The result from chaos

Does everyone have a mind that works in “backward integration”? I spot ingredients and work my way back to the shelves to look up my stock of supplies. That seems to be the only way I can cook on crazily busy weeks.

My last week’s special mentions are

Soda Bread

One of easiest breads I have made in a while and is a recipe that begets tinkering. Will have to try this with all wheat flour and many more different seeds.

Walnut Fudge (simplest fudge ever made)

Try it. Though I need to figure out how to make fudge without letting it sweat. This weather doesn’t encourage fudge-making endeavours.

Carrot (cup) Cake

This was a recipe I was taught by an aunt who got me interested in baking in school. As an aside, she taught me largely whole wheat cakes so to this date, I cannot readily make a cake that cannot be adapted to whole wheat. She doesn’t remember it anymore but here it is. It’s actually a cake, not a recipe for cup cakes but I prefer this as it is easier to “take and eat” as you are heading out of the house.

Makes 18 cup cakes

2 1/4 cup carrots shredded

1 cup sugar (I used brown)

2 cups whole wheat flour

1.5 tsp baking soda

1 tsp baking powder

2 eggs

1 tsp vanilla essence

1 tsp cinnamon (optional)

1 cup walnuts (chopped) (optional)

1 cup oil (I use the regular cooking oil or olive oil)

1. Whisk all dry ingredients and keep aside.

2. Lightly beat the eggs.

3. Macerate the carrots in the sugar for about 30 minutes. This is a very important step as most of the liquid for the cake batter comes from this step.

4. Add the eggs and the oil to carrot mixture and gently incorporate. The oil in my opinion was a little too much and can be brought down to 3/4 of a cup.

5. Add the flour, a little at a time, incorporating as you go along. Do not over mix as it is a wheat batter and can get dense.

6. Bake in lined cup cake trays for about 20 minutes, at 200 degrees centigrade.

Leave a Reply

