Book Review: Bread Alone

The book: what can I say.

It’s very mediocre writing. There is just no way to disguise that. It does not hold your interest. It incites very little interest by way of food despite the protagonist working in a bakery and baking what I presume is delish bread!

The story is simple. WynterMorrison makes her way to Seattle after a bad marriage, the end of which catches her unexpectedly. In Seattle, she gets a job as an apprentice in a bakery. Her life takes different turns and each one brings her closer to what very evidently looks like closure. She goes through people in her life with loaves she bakes, as a representation.The story follows through and finishes on an expected note.

Each loaf is a challenge and a symbol. Wynter makes her loaves so effortlessly. But at no point does the story make you want to put the book down and run into the kitchen to whip up some grand dame of a loaf.

To sum it up, I think the book lacks a soul.

But the one thing it did not do is turn me off bread making. I only recently started experimenting with yeast.
I didn’t really pick any recipe from the book but I did make a loaf of regular whole wheat bread and a banana bread loaf.

The whole wheat bread was a simple recipe that I made over almost 18 hours. Which was perhaps the only thing I took back from book.

“Half the yeast, double the rising the time.”

1 cup whole wheat flour

1 cup white flour

3/4 tsp dry yeast

a pinch of salt

water, as required (roughly one cup)

  • Activate the yeast with warm water
  • Add the yeast to all the dry ingredients
  • Mix, with water as required, just till the ingredients come together in a rough dough.
  • Leave it to rise for about 10-12 hours
  • Knead it and leave it to rise for another 3-4 hours
  • Bake it for about 30 minutes.

And, as I type this, another loaf (oats, whole wheat this time) bakes. So maybe the book actually did what it was supposed to be. Knock me off my lazy behind!

6 thoughts on “Book Review: Bread Alone

  1. Welcome to the book club. 🙂
    I chose to sit out the book review this month but now I wanna read it even more. There is nothing I like better than reviewing a bad book.
    Love your whole wheat bread. Would love to see how the oats bread turns out.

  2. i actually wanted to make the whole wheat, but then I was just lazy; the white bread had fewer ingredients to measure! But whole wheat is as far as I have ventured – I am a bit conservative when it comes to experimenting with things like oats!

  3. Aquadaze: While I happily add oats, it’s not always a successful experiment. A denser slice at any rate. Less is more works while eating. 🙂 Your white loaf looks absolutely yummy. Makes me want to give up my maida aversion.

Leave a Reply

